Whether oats can be included in the diet of individuals with celiac disease has been debated since the gluten-free diet was first established as the treatment for this disease. As a consequence, oats have been studied more than any other grain in relation to celiac disease with the possible exception of wheat. Based on the totality of evidence conducted to date, moderate amounts of oats not contaminated with wheat, barley, or rye can be eaten on a daily basis by most individuals with celiac disease. The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Evidence Analysis Library states in part, “Studies have shown that incorporating oats uncontaminated with wheat, barley or rye, into a gluten-free dietary pattern for people with celiac disease, at intake levels of approximately 50 grams dry oats per day, is generally safe and improves compliance.”
Why the caveats
You may be wondering why there are so many caveats to eating oats: moderate amounts; not contaminated; most individuals. Why isn’t the recommendation simply, “yes, you can eat oats?” The information that follows should address some of these issues…
To continue reading this blog see http://www.glutenfreely.com/community/Gluten-Freely. This blog was written by Tricia Thompson, MS, RD for the General Mills website www.glutenfreely.com.